This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

This is Not My HatThis is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

My rating: ★★☆☆☆

Compared to the hilarity that was I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat was downright disappointing.

I Want My Hat Back was spectacular because I honestly didn’t see the ending coming. I expected your typical kid’s book. Main character has a problem, does a few random boring things to try to solve the problem, and then succeeds in solving the problem. But the way I Want My Hat Back ended was so wondrously unexpected and absurdly amusing that I couldn’t help but love it.

This is not the case with This Is Not My Hat. In effect, This Is Not My Hat is the same plot as This Is Not My Hat except from a different perspective (a hat thief this time rather than a victim)… and it’s boring. You know what’s going to happen, and then when it does, it isn’t funny. There’s no absurdly endearing final line. No barely-hidden black comedy. No humorously detailed final scene. No surprise twist.

So this was a miss for me. Maybe next time, Klassen.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

